Our First Day of School

IMG_6821My little guy and I officially began our 2017/2018 school year this week, and so far things are going well.  Reluctantly, I sent my other three kids off to school, leaving just myself and my two-year-old at home this year.  My little guy was quite upset when his big brother boarded the big yellow bus and went to school without him, and truthfully I didn’t take it well either.  However, once we settled into our routine, it was kind of nice.  Having some one on one time with mom will be great for my little guy, with three other siblings, it’s not something he gets to experience very often.

For the second year in a row, we will be using the Mother Goose Time Curriculum in conjunction with their Little Goose supplement.  The Little Goose supplement explains how to make the daily activities more toddler-friendly, and also adds some other fun toddler activities to do with your toddler each day.  Our first unit of study this year will be focusing on our amazing bodies and looks like it will be so much fun.

Our First Day

Morning Walk

Before we got to work with homeschool, we took a moment to get some fresh air and started off our day with a walk around our meadow.  My son was thrilled with being able to have all of my attention focused on him, as we smelled all the flowers we could find and explored the meadow.  I love getting my kids outside, and it was a great way to get our day started out on the right foot.

Circle Time

IMG_6717
Our Circle Time Area

Once we returned, refreshed and relaxed from our walk, we got started with circle time and talked about the calendar and weather.  My son loved having complete control over this whole process and was thrilled when he got to glue the date up all by himself.   He also spent a lot of time pointing out different images on the calendar and talking about what they were.  He is all about learning new words right now so this was a great activity for him.

Nametag Activity

When we finished our circle time, we moved onto the name tag activity, which is featured in each month of the Mother Goose Time curriculum.  At this point, my two-year-old is not writing, so I write his name on the name tag for him and let him scribble over it.   During this activity, we also practiced some of our writing skills on the chalk board by drawing different shapes.  By the end of our lesson my son was able to recognize his name, and would gleefully shout “Me” whenever he saw his name tag throughout the day.

Cuddle and Snuggle Time

After working on our name for a little bit, we took a break and moved onto our cuddle and snuggle activity.  The Little Goose supplement features a new cuddle and snuggle activity each day.  This is a great opportunity to have a quiet, bonding moment with your toddler.  Today my son sat on my lap and looked at himself in a mirror.  We worked together to point out different features on his face, including his eyes, ears, and mouth.  He loved this activity and was quite mesmerized with himself.  He especially loved making silly faces at himself.

Art Time

Normally my son loves art time, but that was not the case today.  We were supposed to work on self-portraits, but my son had no interest in drawing a picture of himself.  I even sat next to him and showed him how to draw a circle and then add eyes and a mouth, but to no avail. He was more interested in his new crayons and discussing what colors they were, so that’s what we worked on.

Block Time

We finished our day with an activity involving blocks.  We practiced stacking them and then attempted to make block towers as tall as ourselves.  However like most two-year-olds, my son had more interest in knocking the towers down, so we never were able to get a tower as tall as either of us.  Nonetheless, this was his favorite activity of the day, and we proceeded to build towers for almost a half an hour.  In a two-year old’s world, thirty minutes is an eternity.

All in all, our day was a success.  It was definitely different having just my little guy home, but I think it will be a very beneficial year for both of us.   My little guy will continue to grow and thrive with the Mother Goose Time curriculum and my undivided attention.  There are lots of things I hope we accomplish this year, most importantly being potty trained and getting rid of diapers for good (it’s been 10 years since we have been diaper free). I am looking forward to sharing our adventures with you this year.

See you next week for more Chaos on the Creek.

19510309_1588341684509993_3025539560496814781_nDisclaimer:  I am so grateful to have found this curriculum and am excited to share our experiences on the blog.  In exchange for my unbiased and honest reviews, Mother Goose Time has provided us with the curriculum free of charge.

 

Leave a Reply

